Hepcat News

June 26, 2000
     In just a little over one month, Hepcat's brand new scorcher "Push 'N Shove" will finally be released. Both the Epitaph and Hellcat websites list the U.S. release date for the album as July 25th, while the European release will be a whole two weeks earlier, on July 11th. For all of the vinyl junkies around, there will be both CD and LP versions of the new album. The picture at the left is the cover of the album, which features frontman Greg Lee.

     Here's a rough tracklisting and cover:

Push 'N Shove
1. Push 'N Shove
2. Tek Dat
3. Lude 1
4. Prison Of Love
5. The Ronnie
6. Daydreamin'
7. Comin' On Strong
8. You And I
9. Beautiful
10. Riding The Region
11. Gimme Little Sign
12. Lude 2
13. The Spins
14. Live On
In Stores Everywhere July 25th

     For all of the European fans, when you get the album before anyone else and you would like to write a little something about your feelings, please send them to us and we will put them on the page. This also goes for all other countries as well, because we would love to hear peoples' reactions to the new album!

     We've added a little countdown on the main page to inform everyone of the number of days left until the new album hits stores. We certainly cannot wait to hear the new album!

     You can download the entire version of "Live On" from either www.epitaph.com or www.hell-cat.com in their Hepcat sections. The song lives up to the expected Hepcat greatness, combining sounds ranging from classic Philly soul to mellow rocksteady and reggae. You can preorder the album from many sites on the internet, including CDnow.com and CDquest.com.

 Boston Brass Digest     A great little zine hailing from Boston entitled The Boston Brass Digest recently published an interview with Hepcat trumpeter Kincaid Smith. Issue #2 of the zine featured the interview, which you can read either in the "press" link on this site or by clicking here!

     Andrew Galante, who runs The Boston Brass Digest conducted the interview and also graciously sent us several top-notch photos of Hepcat live in concert from their 1999 performance at The Paradise in Boston, Massachusetts, which you can view in the "pictures" section.

     To obtain your own copy of the zine, which is free, either e-mail The Boston Brass Digest at: BB_Digest@hotmail.com, or mail a letter and extra stamp to:

The Boston Brass Digest
54 Sanford St.
Boston, MA 02136

     Andrew tells us that a website is planned for the zine, so watch for that soon! In the meantime, be sure to pick yourself up a copy and enjoy the zine.

     The annual LA Weekly Music Awards, which will take place on June 29th, will feature Hepcat's Alex Desert as an award presenter. The award show will be hosted by Ice-T and will take place at the Henry Fonda Theatre in Hollywood, California. Hepcat is not nominated for any awards this year, but last year the band took home the award for best dance artist.

     This years award's show will feature a performance by Dick Dale with Ray Manzarek of The Doors. Other presenters include Pauly Shore and many others. For more information about the LA Weekly Music Awards, you can visit their website at: www.lamusic2000.com.

     Greg Lee is interviewed by the Like.com website, which strives to present "What people you like, like." In the interview, Greg describes his favorite things, such as soundtracks, books, movies, musicians, and much more. If you want to know more in depth about what Greg Lee likes, then this interview is not one to be missed! Head over to Like.com and check it out.

     In other Greg Lee news, Hellcat Records is reporting that Greg will tour with the David Hillyard Rocksteady 7 in August, hitting stops in Canada and the U.S. East Coast. Check the "tour" section for all of the dates.

     Kincaid Smith helped to pay tribute to Blondie, as part of the Makeup All-Stars at Club Makeup in Los Angeles, California at the El Rey Theatre on June 3rd. This is a continuation of a series of tributes that Kincaid Smith has taken part in as the Makeup All-Stars, and he tells us that in the past he has helped organize the horn sections for previous shows. Some of the other members of the group included players from Buckcherry and Orgy. Word has it that a Sly Stone tribute is in the works and Kincaid hopes to play a part in this show as well.

     After having asked in last month's news about tracking down Hepcat's "Out of Nowhere" album for those fans who did not own it, we've had an overwhelming response from other Hepcat fans with scoops about where to track it down. Here's the list of online stores that carry it:

www.grover.de or moskito@muenster.de

     A giant thank you to all the people who helped out with this list! Now for those who still do not have "Out of Nowhere," there is now no excuse not to pick it up!

     Before we can find a permanent spot somewhere on the site for it, once again here is Hepcat's e-mail address where anyone can get in contact with the band. The address is: dancingmood@hotmail.com, so send them some messages!

If you want to catch up on all of the Hepcat news that you missed, follow this link.

E-mail Us!!