Hepcat News

December 25, 2000
     You have probably noticed that this site has not been updated for several months. We feel bad about not updating the site, but we just have not had any real news to announce for Hepcat. We hope you enjoy reading the updates below, and we hope to have more lyrics and other site additions soon!

     The Greg Lee chat which took place way back on August 21st, revealed some very interesting items. First off, for all of you still looking for Hepcat's first album "Out Of Nowhere" on the now defunct Moon Ska Records label, you might be in luck! Greg stated that "Out Of Nowhere" might be re-released on Hellcat/Epitaph Records sometime in the future. We do not have any other details on this, but this is great news nonetheless. If you cannot wait for this re-release to happen, you can still find the original at these various online places, among others:

www.grover.de or moskito@muenster.de

     Greg also mentioned that there might also be the possibility of a live Hepcat CD release from live shows that the band has recorded over the years. We wish we could give you a full transcript of the chat, but we have not been able to track one down. Needless to say, there seems to be good things to come for Hepcat in the future.

King Ernest     Members of Hepcat are featured on a recently released album, but you probably have never heard of it. The album, done by the late bluesman "King Ernest" Baker, is entitled "Blues Got Soul" on Fat Possum Records, a subsidiary of Epitaph. The album features Kincaid Smith on trumpet and background vocals, Deston Berry on background vocals and Efren Santana on saxophone.

     The album is marked with some sadness in that King Ernest passed away in a car crash only days after hearing the final mixes of the album. King Ernest had been a bluesman off and on during his career, but he decided to pursue music full time after retiring from a job with the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department. The album features several original songs and also includes one written by Tom Waits, called "House Where Nobody Lives." Here is the tracklisting to the 10-song album, which is available on both LP and CD:

1. Suffer And Stay
2. Blues Conviction
3. Contentment
4. Rock Me In Your Arms
5. House Where Nobody Lives
6. Fallin' Down On My Face With The Blues
7. Till The Day I Die
8. Must Have Lost My Mind
9. Wood Rat
10. Regular Man

     You can find more information on King Ernest by visiting the official Fat Possum Records site and also read a lengthy interview/article that Blues Access magazine did with King Ernest in 1997.

     There have been some additions made to the discography section, including a very interesting alternate version of the "No Worries" single. Hepcat fan Erik from California, told us that while he was in Europe over the summer, he picked up a "No Worries" CD single that had three tracks, rather than the four we had listed on this site. Erik told us that he believes the single was re-released in 1999, but that it did not include the live version of "The Secret."

     Before we can find a permanent spot somewhere on the site for it, once again here is Hepcat's e-mail address where anyone can get in contact with the band. The address is: dancingmood@hotmail.com, so send them some messages!

If you want to catch up on all of the Hepcat news that you missed, follow this link.

E-mail Us!!